Hello friends!  Can you believe it’s been FOUR months since I’ve last written?  Holy moses – where has the time gone?  

It has been a crazy busy summer to say the least and while I enjoy fall, I’m really not ready for summer to leave.  I love everything that fall brings like pumpkins, apple cider, campfires, and stuff like that.  But what I’m NOT ready for is cold weather.  Me and cold weather do not get along anymore.  

I had a revelation, if you will, the other day.  The temperature was very cold out and as I was getting ready for work, I knew I needed to dress a bit warmer because I get cold very easily.  So I put on my one lone long sleeved shirt in my closet, my dress pants, and my sandals (I try to drag out summer as long as I can in any way I can, lol).  Then I got to thinking, I know I have some more long sleeve shirts around here somewhere, but where on earth are they?  So as I pondered that question over the next couple of days (while creatively coming up with ways to dress warmer with the selection of clothes in my closet) and out of nowhere it hit me.  I have NO long sleeve clothes because I got rid of them.  And why did I get rid of them?   Because this time last year I was wearing a 3x clothes and now I’m in XL clothes.  So I informed my husband that I’m going to have to go on a shopping spree very soon because I need warm clothes.  It’s a great problem to have – until you realize that you need the clothes sooner than later and now you have to bounce around finances to fund this shopping spree.  Oh the fun times of a weight loss patient.  🙂

But can you believe it’s been almost a year since my surgery?!  I can remember this time last year going through all of the last minute preparations for surgery – all of the pre-op testing, bloodwork, doctor appointments, making arrangements at work, etc.  And now it’s come and gone, and here I am almost one year later and 110 pounds down.  I’ve lost a whole person!!!  

My weight loss has slowed down and has begun to stabilize more.  I can eat more I’m learning, but at the same time I’ve had to learn the hard way what’s too much – it’s not pleasant either.  I am still figuring out what foods I can handle and what I can’t.  My taste buds have changed drastically and foods I used to love no longer taste good to me.  It’s really weird and sometimes hard to explain.  For instance, I used to love salad.  I’d eat salad almost every day at work.  But now, I have a salad maybe once a month, if that.  Since having my gall bladder out too, I think that has a lot to do with what I eat.  

I struggle with sweets (still) and learning to say no to them.  They ARE my downfall.  But I will say that since going off of a certain medication recently, my cravings for them have gone down.  I still crave them, just not as intense as before.  I also struggle with restaurants.  Recently we went to a local restaurant and I specifically asked for a kids menu from the greeter seater (lol – that makes me crack up!).  Anyway, no issues there, but it was the waitress who I had to “bring in the reigns” if you will.  I ordered my meal and asked what was in their fruit dish.  She told me, and I said ok I’ll take that.  She said okay and that she would bring me an adult size dish but I wouldn’t be charged extra for it.  I politely thanked her for the kind gesture but I explained that that wouldn’t be necessary because I cannot eat a lot.  So I got the kid-sized meal which was perfect.  So I still deal with the whole idea that people are used to ordering large sized portions, but when someone asks for a small portion, it’s like you’re not of this world kind of thing.  I do sometimes order a regular meal and will just take home what I don’t/can’t eat.  But when I take almost the whole meal home, I get really weird looks or I get questioned on the quality of the meal.  Again, I just have to explain that I cannot eat a lot, yadda yadda yadda.  And sadly, most of the time, my leftovers get thrown in the trash because I forget about them, or they just don’t sound good and it goes bad before I can eat it up.  So yeah, even a year later I still have some adjustments to go through and weird situations to handle.  But I actually enjoy educating people and find some satisfaction in knowing that there are people out there who eat smaller portions and do not confirm to the world.  

But the most fun thing about my surgery is the looks I get from people who haven’t seen me in a long time.  They look at you like I know you, but I just don’t know where.  Or they don’t even look at you at all because they’re so used to seeing a fat girl that they just look on by.  So recently I’ve been hearing “I didn’t even recognize you!”  My response is “Well that’s what I’m going for!”  or “That’s the reaction I like to hear!”  It’s fun and you know, I can’t wait until I go get my driver’s license updated, lol.  I wonder how much hassle I’ll have there.  But even with these comments, it’s nice to know that all of my hard work is really paying off.  And those comments confirm it.

Medically speaking, I’m in great condition.  I just recently had a follow-up appointment with my doctor and he is pleased with my progress, although he and the nutritionist did stress that I needed to be a little more physically active – which starts with me clearing my schedule a little more, which I’m working on.  I still deal with occasional stomach pains, painful gas, and even the dreadful constipation – but that’s all part of it.  It takes a while for your body to adjust, and I just have to be careful about what I eat too.  

But I’ve got some exciting news – which until now we really haven’t shared with too many people.  As you know, I got married in July (best thing I ever did).  And many of you know that I have ALWAYS wanted to have a family.  And before bariatric surgery, that was pretty much out of the question.  But now that I am married, I really want to have a family and soon.  Of course I know this is all in God’s timing and not mine, but He knows the desires of my heart and hopefully He will answer that prayer.  So with that said, my doctor gave us the all clear to start trying for a family.  So on 9/10/12 I took my last birth control pill (you know, the one I mentioned above that I quit taking and didn’t tell you what I quit taking?  lol, sneaky huh?!).  Normally the doctors like for you to wait at least 12-18 months before trying to conceive, but my doctor felt that it since I’m making great progress, that he felt that I am at a point where if got pregnant I wouldn’t be in any danger.  So yes, my husband and I have already started the family planning stuff.  I’m not pregnant yet, so settle down there reader, lol.  But hopefully by the end of the year we are.  Of course, I still have to follow-up with my OBGYN and all that stuff – which happens in October.  But by God’s grace, I hope that we have our little family soon.  I know we are both excited about it!  A few people have told us to wait, but for crying out loud, I’ve been waiting for 11 years (or more) to have a family.  Sorry, but I am not waiting anymore.  I’ve come too far to just “wait”.  One of the reasons for my surgery was to increase my chances of having a baby.  So my hubby and I are chasing after our dreams.  With all of our friends having babies, I’m hoping that some of that baby dust comes our way!  Stay tuned!!  🙂

So that’s the big news!  Life is exactly where I’d hoped it would be this time a year ago (well except we aren’t in our own house yet, lol).  I can’t wait to see what happens over the next few months!  I’m sorry I don’t get on here as much as I used to.  But I will keep everyone up to date as much as possible.  

Love you all!

Until next time…

