Hi friends!  I hope your year is off to a great start as we come to a close here in January.  I know my year got off to a rough start, but it’s slowly getting better!  I have a lot to catch up on, and since I just took about a 3 hour nap, I’m pretty sure I can stay awake and finish this blog entry, lol.

So, the last time I wrote I was in this battle – and what a battle it was.  I came out a little scarred, but all thanks to my God, He brought me through it.  Is everything all hunky-dory happy-go-lucky now?  No.  But it’s definitely better than it was a few weeks ago.  So let’s start with my health stuff.

As some of you may remember, I posted that I have been having some problems since Christmas and not feeling well.  Well, so far this year, I have been to the emergency room twice for pain and severe nausea.  Long story short, after the first visit to the ER my doctor wanted to see me to discuss about doing either an upper GI or a scope on me to figure out what was going on.  Well, he canceled both of my appointments and has been out of the office for the month.  I couldn’t take the discomfort any more, so I went back to the ER a second time.  After a second CT scan and a multitude of tests from blood work, they still couldn’t find anything.  So, I called my doctor’s office again and they finally got me in to see a different doctor.  That doctor sent me for an upper GI, which ultimately lasted about 5 hours.  That was last Monday….fast forward to last Friday.  So I met with the physician’s assistant on Friday and she said that my upper GI came back normal and that I had pretty much stumped the doctors as to why I was having so much trouble.  I guess that’s how I roll – I like to give people a challenge.  But on the flipside, I will say that the pain has FINALLY subsided for the most part – I get a little pain every now and then if I move just right, but it’s not CONSTANT like it was.  Good lord that was ridiculous!  But, I still have issues with nausea.  The PA wanted me to go the whole weekend without wearing one of those patches they prescribed to me a couple of weeks ago.  I did great on Saturday, but when I woke up on Sunday I felt crummy again and I had to cave in and put one on.  So I will have to touch base with her later this week and let her know how I’m doing and to see if the doctor thinks I need to go in for a scope.

People have heard me say this over and over, but I’m ready to get back to normal.  I’m ready to eat normal.  I’m ready to sleep normal.  I’m ready to feel normal.  I’m ready to be physically active again.  I just want to get past this and get on with my life.  This stage is emotionally draining, physically exhausting, and spiritually challenging.  I just never imagined that I would have had this much trouble afterwards.  And some people just don’t understand what a person goes through mentally.  I’m not going to lie, there are days when I don’t even want to crawl out of bed and face the day.  I haven’t been sleeping well and that takes a toll on a person too.  Yesterday (Sunday) I should have been the happiest girl in the world because when I stepped on the scales that morning, I FINALLY reached the 100 lb mark!  I kept saying that the day I hit 100 pounds lost, there was going to be a big party.  Well, I felt so crummy that I couldn’t even really enjoy the moment.  One of the biggest accomplishments of my lifetime, and all I did was lay in bed yesterday.  I did at least take a picture of me standing on the scale to remember the day.  But like someone said on my facebook wall – I get to enjoy the moment for the rest of my life because I’m never going back to where I was.  (Thank you Sonia!)  How true!

But think about it – ONE HUNDRED POUNDS – GONE!  Do you realize that 100 pounds is a large male deer?  A very large dog?  Four sand bags?  A small teenager?  Two bales of hay?  A couple of tires?  Holy moses!  That’s a lot of weight to be carrying around – no wonder I felt horrible all of the time.  And this will blow your mind even more – but I have another 75 pounds that I want to lose.  So by the time I do that I really will have lost a WHOLE person!  THAT is INSANE!!    But let me tell you something, even though I didn’t feel like celebrating yesterday, it really is a big deal to me that I have lost 100 pounds.   I always had it in my mind that I’d always be a big girl and that losing 100 pounds was something I was never going to be able to do.  I did it though!  I finally did it!  And I did it in less than a year – 10 months.  I feel a bit more empowered now.  I know 75 more pounds is my second round, so-to-speak.  But I’m ready to tackle those 75 pounds.    I know I can do this.  I know it’s not easy, it’s not going to be easy, and it’s going to take work and dedication.  But losing 100 pounds does something to you on the inside.  I can’t explain it, but if you’re an obese person on this same kind of journey or if you have already been down this road – you understand what I’m feeling and thinking.  Just like my hospital’s motto – the strength it takes….

So part of this journey is having good days and bad days.  I’ve had a lot of bad days here lately, but I have to say that this past Saturday I felt the greatest that I have in a while.  I had a date on Saturday!  😉  And it was a wonderful date too!  This date has been almost three years in the making – little did I know, lol.  I “met” this guy about three years ago through e-harmony.  And we never met in person, but talked online quite a bit and just kept in touch through facebook over the years and became friends.  He and I recently went through break-ups at about the same time.  We began chatting again online and he asked me out and I said yes – and I’m glad I did too.  We ended up having lunch, catching a movie, and afterwards we checked out a local Christian bookstore.  I have to say – that was my favorite part of the day.  😉  It’s finally nice to meet a man who is involved in the church and takes his faith seriously.  He and I share a lot of the same values and desires to have a Christ-centered relationship and ultimately  marriage.  So this is looking very promising.  And in case you’re wondering – yes, he did ask me out for a second date and yes I accepted.  😉   I cannot wait for our second date and I’m really pretty excited to see where this leads.  Who knows – maybe everyone who keeps telling me that 2012 is my year is right.  😉  Time will tell.

So other than that, I don’t really have much else to report.  Maybe that’s a good thing?  lol

Here is a quick report though on my “numbers”:

Weight:  215

Shirt & Pant Size:  18/20

Shoe Size – still a 9

Ring size – 8 and shrinking, lol

Next goal weight:  140 – Let’s do this!

Until next time….

 

Oh ps…here’s an updated picture…you can REALLY see the transformation!

 

