Hello everyone!  Once again it’s been a few weeks since I last wrote.  It’s been a very, very busy month.  Wedding season is upon us and I just did my third wedding in the last four weeks.  I’m done with weddings (for now) until the fall.  I do photography on the side and this year business has exploded!  It’s been great and I’m excited that it’s finally taking off, but it’s also been challenging trying to keep up with a busy schedule and making sure I’m eating the right things.

I guess that I should warn you that this post may be a bit lengthy.  I have a lot of ground to cover, lol.

The last week or so, God has been dealing with me on an issue that I have with this whole journey that I’m on.  I have an addiction.  I didn’t really consider it an addiction until our pastor delivered a sermon on it and then it was brought into light.  I am addicted to sweets.  There, I said it.  I have been fighting every temptation I’ve had about wanting something sweet (and unhealthy), until this last month.  I gave in to my temptation way too many times.  I had the thought, it’s only one and I won’t have any more.  Wrong.  One more led to another and then another, and well you get the point.

It’s never an easy feeling when you have your worst fault pointed out to you.  So as I sat there that Sunday morning attempting to run the computer, God was dealing me, big time.  And the question was asked, what has mastered you?  My initial response was, ha!  Nothing!  And then Pastor Shane went into sarcastic mode and presented these five points about how to become an addict:  1.  Never admit you have a problem; 2. Gratify you fleshly desires; 3.  Rationalize your behavior and make excuses; 4.  Always keep your addiction a secret; 5.  Depend on your own power and never Gods.

  1.  I just admitted to you, reader, that I am addicted to sweets.
  2. I admit that I have had way too many candy bars over the last month.
  3. I admit that I rationalized eating a candy bar because I waited too long to eat.  I also rationalized that I was only going to do it this time and no more.
  4. I’ve never really came out and told anyone that I am addicted to sweets, until now.
  5. I admit that I never asked for God’s divine intervention to help me resist the urge to make a choice to purchase and eat that candy bar.

So there you have it, the biggest challenge I’m facing with this weight loss.

“Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9) (NLT)

So this last week as I mulled over pastor’s message, prayed about it, I essentially put it to test.  A couple of times this week, I was craving chocolate – a Snickers bar to be specific.  So I purposely put myself in an everyday situation where I was presented with a choice to buy or not buy that candy bar.  I was in the grocery store and this particular store had a whole display of – you guessed it – Snickers bars – and they were on sale!  So I stood in front of that display, mulling over the hundreds of bars before me.  I just said “Lord – please give me the strength to walk away.”  Please give me the strength to resist temptation.”  INSTANTLY my desire for a candy bar was gone and I walked away.  I paid for my stuff and left.

But here’s the key.  Not only did God give me the strength to walk away, but I walked away with a sense of accomplishment and I didn’t crave that chocolate any more that evening.  The other thing too is that this is not just a one-time thing and I’m “healed”.  An addiction is a beast of it’s own and it never goes away.  Because an addiction is best friends with temptation.  Yes it is a choice and you can choose not to do something.  But overcoming the will to choose not to is not easy.  So every time that I have to go check-out at a store, I always have to say to myself, “Lord, give me the strength to not pick-up that candy bar.”  Sweets are my weakness.  I will overcome it, it just takes time.  And whatever you may be battling, you too can overcome it!

As many of you may know, I just recently celebrated my birthday.  I am now officially 32 and my new life is well under way.  I had the opportunity to take my birthday off from work and really enjoy the day.

I first treated myself to a few extra hours of sleep.  I then took a walk down memory lane and stopped by the college where I used to work and visited some people who are still there.  I haven’t seen these folks in almost seven years.  It was great getting to catch up with them and see the changes that have happened over the last few years.

I then treated my mom to a manicure and I got a pedicure.

It was great being able to sit down after that and have a long lunch with my mom and brother.  We ate at Sigler’s.

Of course mom and I had to stop at the store after that.  And I saw the cutest little car in the parking lot!  LOL

As I left town though I had to make a stop here:

After that I headed back to the house that I am staying at for a couple of weeks, and later that evening I met up with a friend from work and we had dinner at this wonderful restaurant.

This was our appetizer:  Fresh mozzarella topped with tomatoes and a balsamic vinegarette.

This was our main meal:  THE BEST steak I’ve ever had!!!

After dinner, I was treated to some good smelly stuff at Bath & Body Works.

And then we went to a movie and saw “Bad Teacher.”  Overall it was a spectacular day and was probably one of the best birthdays I’ve had in a long time.

Today was a big day for me as I met the psychologist and had my psych evaluation.  I was extremely nervous and I guess more fearful than anything that they’d find me incompetent of enduring bariatric surgery.  And I’m happy to report that that is not the case.  I am cleared for surgery later this fall!  I just have a few more months of the doctor supervised weight loss and then everything goes to the insurance company for final approval.  Realistically though, it will be here before you know it.

Also I had another weigh-in today.  And I have lost 16 more pounds!!  I am almost to the 50 pound mark – only 7 more pounds to go!  Can you believe it?!?!

I have an appointment on the 12th to meet with a fitness coach because I have decided that I want to run the mini-marathon next May.  But I am meeting with her first to make sure this is even possible since I’m having the surgery in the fall.  I bought my running shoes and as soon as she gives me the all clear I’ll be buying my ticket!  It’s going to be a day to remember – for sure!

Well that’s about all the news and updates I have for now.  I can’t wait to see what happens over the next few months.  If I stay on track and continue losing at the weight I am losing, by the time my 6 months is up, I will have lost almost 100 pounds!  Now THAT is exciting!!!

For all of you out there looking for inspiration – I know what you’re going through – but stay strong and know that you CAN do this!  I personally have faith in you that you can and you will!

Have a great rest of the week friends, and make everyday count!

 

 

